Dyantyi, Notshe among departing Sharks

Vodacom Bulls-linked speedster Aphiwe Dyantyi leads a list of 14 players confirmed to be leaving the Sharks following the conclusion of their season.

The Durbanites experienced a difficult campaign, finishing 14th on the Vodacom URC table, although victory in the Challenge Cup provided them a spot in the Champions Cup next season.

MORE: Bulls to charge for Dyantyi?

John Plumtree has made the decision to axe both stalwarts and rookies alike as he looks to put behind the regular season disappointment and build on the momentum of the Challenge Cup win.

Springbok Sikhumbuzo Notshe’s contract was not extended with the loose forward being linked to the Stormers, but John Dobson has indicated that a move is unlikely to occur.

Former Blitzbok speedster Werner Kok departs to join Irish side Ulster while flyhalf Curwin Bosch, who celebrated his 100th cap for the Sharks this season, will continue his career with second-division French side Brive after eight years with the club.

DOBSON: Notshe’s Stormers return ‘unlikely’

Utility back Boeta Chamberlain will join the Bulls after falling down the pecking order since Plumtree’s arrival and will likely be joined at Loftus Versfeld by Dyantyi, who was released early from a two-year contract.

Towering lock Le Roux Roets is set to link up with a host of former Sharks, such as the Du Preez brothers, when he arrives at Sale Sharks following a three-year stint in Durban.

Meanwhile, Zee Mkhabela (scrumhalf), Anthony Volmink (Wing), Kerron van Vuuren (hooker), Murray Koster (centre) and Nevaldo Fleurs (flyhalf/fullbck) have all not had their contracts extended while lock Simon Miller has been released after a trial from Western Province and veteran flyhalf Lional Cronje retires to join the Sharks coaching ranks.

Photo: Steve Haag Sports/Gallo Images

The post Dyantyi, Notshe among departing Sharks appeared first on SA Rugby magazine.