Classic clashes: Boks wallop Wallabies in Brisbane

With the Springboks and Wallabies set to lock horns next week in the Rugby Championship, here we rewind to 2013 when South Africa demolished Australia for the first time at Suncorp Stadium. The Wallabies had won the seven previous Tests between the teams in Brisbane – including a 49-0 mauling in 2006 – but were no match for the Boks in the set piece and loose, and were sliced apart by Heyneke Meyer’s charges at the back end of the second half. The Boks dominated the scrum, the collisions and the breakdown to lay the platform for a four-tries-to-nil drubbing that gave the visitors their biggest win over the Wallabies Down Under, and their first Gold Coast win in 14 matches in the professional era. CLASSIC CLASHES: Habana tears Wallabies apart in Perth Australia playmaker Quade Cooper had a miserable night on his long-awaited return to the No 10 jersey, and he gave away the penalty from which the Boks stormed to an early lead with replacement prop Coenie Oosthuizen barging past him to score in the sixth minute. The Wallabies had aimed to run the Bok pack into the ground, and were still in the contest at 19-12 midway through the second half, before Bok skipper Jean de Villiers started and finished a brilliant blindside raid. Ruan Pienaar and Willie le Roux then showed immense skill to put Zane Kirchner over four minutes later, and Le Roux rubbed salt into the Wallabies’ wounds by punishing a Cooper turnover. Wallabies – 15 Israel Folau, 14 James O’Connor, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Christian Leali’ifano, 11 Nick Cummins, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia (c), 8 Ben Mowen, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Scott Fardy, 5 Kane Douglas, 4 Rob Simmons, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Stephen Moore, 1 James Slipper. Subs: 16 Saia Fainga’a, 17 Scott Sio, 18 Ben Alexander, 19 Ben McCalman, 20 Liam Gill, 21 Nic White, 22 Matt Toomua, 23 Jesse Mogg. Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Willie le Roux, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Jean de Villiers (c), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Flip van der Merwe, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira. Subs: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Gurthro Steenkamp, 18 Coenie Oosthuizen, 19 Juandre Kruger, 20 Siya Kolisi, 21 Jano Vermaak, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 Jan Serfontein. Photo: Cameron Spencer/Getty Images The post Classic clashes: Boks wallop Wallabies in Brisbane appeared first on SA Rugby magazine.