Lions sensation beats 2023 World Cup star for top URC gong

SPOTLIGHT: Lions playmaker Sanele Nohamba has been named URC Player of the Season 2024 following a fantastic campaign with the Johannesburg-based franchise.

The award was open to any player from one of the four South African franchises, and forms part of the annual SA Rugby Awards, with the winner determined by votes from the South African media, the four South African franchise coaches, and Springboks head coach, Rassie Erasmus.

Nohamba edged out Bulls duo Kurt-Lee Arendse and Cameron Hanekom in winning the coveted award.

The 25-year-old played all 18 regular season games for the Lions, who just missed out on a spot on the play-offs on the final day.

He scored two tries, racking up 117 points in total with 31 conversions, 14 penalties, and one drop-goal slotted over bar.

Nohamba also made 462 metres, with seven try-assists, and 19 defenders beaten in an excellent all-round season.

URC Awards Winners 2023-24

Tackle Machine: Alessandro Izekor (Benetton)
Turnover King: Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh)
Golden Boot: Chris Smith (Bulls)
Top Try Scorer: Johnny Matthews (Glasgow Warriors
Ironman Award: Shane Daly (Munster)
Next-Gen Player of the Season: Jack Crowley (Munster)
Try of the Season: Aphelele Fassi (Sharks)
Innovation Award: Benetton

URC Elite XV 2023/24: 15 Warrick Gelant (Stormers), 14 Jordan Larmour (Leinster), 13 Sione Tuipulotu (Glasgow Warriors), 12 Alex Nankivell (Munster), 11 Kurt-Lee Arendse (Bulls), 10 Jack Crowley (Munster), 9 John Cooney (Ulster), 8 Cameron Hanekom (Bulls), 7 Elrigh Louw (Bulls), 6 Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh), 5 Ruan Nortjé (Bulls), 4 Tadhg Beirne (Munster), 3 Wilco Louw (Bulls), 2 Akker van der Merwe (Bulls), 1 Ox Nche (Sharks)