Rohan to debut for Sharks in Italy

Rohan Janse van Rensburg is among the three players who will debut for the Sharks in their Vodacom United Rugby Championship opener against Zebre in Parma on Friday. The Sharks are led by captain Thomas du Toit, with Boeta Chamberlain named at flyhalf and an old face returning to the team, Fred Zeilinga, providing cover off the bench. Janse van Rensburg, who joined from Sale Sharks, makes his first official start, partnering with Ben Tapuai in midfield. Tighthead prop Carlu Sadie and lock Justin Basson have been named on the bench and could also make their first official appearances for the Sharks. “Preparations have gone well, apart from the injuries picked up by Curwin Bosch and Lionel Cronje, but Boeta showed enough in those pre-season friendlies against the Lions and Stormers that he’s ready to take over the No 10 jersey,” said coach Sean Everitt. “Zebre will be a tough nut to crack at home,” he admits. “They put on a good performance against Leinster last weekend [going down 33-29] and I don’t think anyone would have believed the game would be so close; they were unfortunate not to get the result. “We’re under no illusions as to what we’re facing on Friday night and we know this competition is unforgiving as some of the teams found out in the first weekend’s action.” Sharks – 15 Aphelele Fassi, 14 Werner Kok, 13 Ben Tapuai, 12 Rohan Janse van Rensburg, 11 Thaakir Abrahams, 10 Boeta Chamberlain, 9 Grant Williams, 8 Phepsi Buthelezi, 7 Dylan Richardson, 6 James Venter, 5 Reniel Hugo, 4 Gerbrant Grobler, 3 Thomas du Toit (c), 2 Kerron van Vuuren, 1 Ntuthuko Mchunu. Subs: 16 Dan Jooste, 17 Dian Bleuler, 18 Carlu Sadie, 19 Justin Basson, 20 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 21 Cameron Wright, 22 Fred Zeilinga, 23 Marnus Potgieter. Photo: Getty Images The post Rohan to debut for Sharks in Italy appeared first on SA Rugby magazine.