Van Graan, Green up for Premiership awards

Bath director of rugby Johann van Graan and Harlequins fullback Tyrone Green are among those shortlisted for Premiership awards for the 2023-24 season.

Van Graan has been nominated for the Director of Rugby of the Year award, after guiding Bath to a second-placed finish and home semi-final.

Bath were bottom of the Premiership table when Van Graan took over in 2022, but the former Vodacom Bulls and Springbok assistant coach has helped turn the club around, securing a place in the Champions Cup in his first season with the team.

Joining Van Graan are Phil Dowson (Northampton Saints), Alex Sanderson (Sale Sharks) and Mark McCall (Saracens), with the winner to be announced at the Premiership Rugby Awards in London on Wednesday.

Former Junior Springbok star Green is up for the Try of the Season award, alongside Bristol Bears and former Cheetahs playmaker Benhard Janse van Rensburg.

Green has been nominated for his score against Newcastle Falcons in round four, while Janse van Rensburg’s try in round 15 – also against Newcastle – has earned the nod.

The Player of the Season award will be decided between Courtney Lawes, Finn Russell, Henry Slade and Northampton Saints flyhalf Fin Smith.

Premiership Try of the Season
Tyrone Green (Harlequins: Round four v Newcastle Falcons)
Tom James (Northampton Saints: Round 17 v Gloucester Rugby)
Benhard Janse van Rensburg (Bristol Bears: Round 15 vs Newcastle Falcons)
Louis Lynagh (Harlequins: Round 17 v Exeter Chiefs)

Breakthrough Player of the Season
Fin Baxter (Harlequins)
Chandler Cunningham-South (Harlequins)
Immanuel Feyi-Waboso (Exeter Chiefs)
Guy Pepper (Newcastle Falcons)

Director of Rugby of the Season
Phil Dowson (Northampton Saints)
Johann van Graan (Bath)
Alex Sanderson (Sale Sharks)
Mark McCall (Saracens)

Player of the Season
Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)
Finn Russell (Bath)
Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)
Fin Smith (Northampton Saints)

Photo: David Rogers/Getty Images

The post Van Graan, Green up for Premiership awards appeared first on SA Rugby magazine.