Johann van Graan makes shortlist for best DOR in Premiership

NEWS: South African Johann van Graan has been nominated for Premiership Director of Rugby of the 2023/24 Premiership season.

The Bath Director of rugby is joined by Phil Dowson (Northampton Saints), Alex Sanderson (Sale Sharks) and Mark McCall (Saracens) on the shortlist ahead of the Premiership Rugby Awards in London on Wednesday.

Van Graan is in contention for the accolade after guiding his team to a home semifinal in the Premiership play-offs.

Bath finished bottom of the table in 2022 and eighth last season, but this term were never out of the top four.

Fellow South Africans Tyrone Green and Benhard Janse van Rensburg will fight it out for the try of the season.

Green has been nominated for his try during Harlequins' Round four match against Newcastle Falcons and flyhalf Janse van Rensburg for his try during Bristol Bears' Round 15 match also against Newcastle Falcons.

Departing Northampton Saints legend Courtney Lawes has been nominated for Premiership Player of the Season.

The retired England centurion goes up against Bath flyhalf Finn Russell and fellow England internationals Henry Slade and Fin Smith for the top gong.

The list of nominees: 

Player of the Season

Mark Atkinson (Gloucester)
Andy Christie (Saracens)
Tom James (Northampton Saints)
Ethan Waller (Northampton Saints)

Premiership Try of the Season

Tyrone Green (Harlequins: Round four v Newcastle Falcons)
Tom James (Northampton Saints: Round 17 v Gloucester Rugby)
Benhard Janse van Rensburg (Bristol Bears: Round 15 vs Newcastle Falcons)
Louis Lynagh (Harlequins: Round 17 v Exeter Chiefs)

Breakthrough Player of the Season

Fin Baxter (Harlequins)
Chandler Cunningham-South (Harlequins)
Immanuel Feyi-Waboso (Exeter Chiefs)
Guy Pepper (Newcastle Falcons)

Director of Rugby of the Season

Phil Dowson (Northampton Saints)
Johann van Graan (Bath)
Alex Sanderson (Sale Sharks)
Mark McCall (Saracens)

Player of the Season

Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)
Finn Russell (Bath)
Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)
Fin Smith (Northampton Saints)

The Premiership Top Points scorer and Premiership Top Try scorer will also be awarded on Wednesday night.